Since it is set to join the European Union on 1 July 2013, Croatia’s visa policy is fully harmonized with that of the EU as of 1 April. This means that from that date onwards the classic visa regime will apply for the citizens of Russia and Turkey as well as citizens of all those countries that need visa for entering the EU member countries.

However, due to the importance of the Russian market, which in recent years has shown a significant increase in tourist traffic, Croatia is trying to shorten and simplify the visa issuance procedure as much as possible.

For entering Croatia, Russian citizens will be issued visas in a speedy manner (generally no longer than five days after the application is received). Multiple-entry visas can also be issued. Visa fee remains 35 EUR.

Russian citizens, after submitting the application at the Croatian Embassy in Moscow, will also be able to obtain visas through accredited tourist agencies at the embassy as well as through visa centres throughout Russia. After a public tender, VFS Global was chosen as the best applicant and will soon be signed an agreement with. We expect around 150,000 visa applications annually, so visa centres will greatly facilitate the procedure.

Since the number of tourists from Ukraine and Turkey is also growing each year, preparations similar to those in Moscow are underway at the Croatian embassies in Kiev and Ankara as well as the consulate general in Istanbul.

Pursuant to the government’s decision, from 1 January 2013 until the date of Croatia’s EU entry all aliens holders of valid Schengen documents for entry and short-term stay in Croatia do not need an additional (Croatian) visa.

All questions regarding Croatia’s visa regime for non-EU countries can be submitted at:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here